遗产法和遗嘱争议

如果您超过18岁, 您应该要立一份遗嘱。这样您就能确保您的财产按照您的意愿进行分配。如果没有遗嘱,那么您的遗产则会按法定分配,这也许违背了您的意愿。

对于您的家人和朋友来说,失去您是非常痛苦的。但如果你有留下遗嘱,他们的生活则变得简单些。遗嘱能够避免不必要的花费,而且让您的受益人尽快分配得到您的财产。

与我们联系, 让我们帮助您拟定一份符合您的具体情况以及反映您个人意愿的遗嘱。

遗嘱认证和申请遗产管理书

在新南威尔士州,继承去世的人留下的房产和资产,需要向最高法院申请遗嘱认证 (有遗嘱)或申请遗产管理书(无遗嘱)。一旦申请获得批准,申请人就有权力领取,分配和处理遗产。但是申请虽被批准了,申请人同时还需要承担相应的责任。如果申请人没有履行职责,那么他个人要对收益人造成的损失负责。因此申请人必须遵照一些程序去做。TK Legal 律师行拥有多年经验,能够告诉您整个流程并帮助您申请。

遗嘱争议和 家庭供养申请

有时候当一位家庭成员去世时,争议往往会随之产生。这些争议可能包括:

  • · 遗嘱是否有效
  • · 订立遗嘱是否有迫于外界压力
  • · 遗嘱的诠释
  • · 是否有人被排除在遗嘱外
  • · 遗嘱是否极其不公平
  • 虽然每个人都可以自由的选择他们认为合适的处理遗产方式,但是法律仍对某些"有资格"的人提供保护。这些人包括:

  • · 逝者的丈夫或妻子;
  • · 逝者的事实婚姻伴侣
  • · 孩子
  • · 前任丈夫或妻子
  • · 完全需要供养或在特定时候需要供养的孙子(女)或家庭成员
  • · 在逝者去世的时候保持紧密关系的人
  • 如果以上有资格的人按照遗嘱安排没有得到足够的费用以维持目前生活,教育和今后发展,那么他可以向高等法院申请家庭供养法令。该申请要在逝者去世12个月内提交,如果需要我们帮助您提交申请,请尽快联系我们。

Wills

You should have a will if you are over 18. Your will ensures that your assets are dealt with in accordance with your wishes. Without a will your assets will be dealt with in accordance with a statutory order of distribution which may not reflect your intentions.

The time following a death is difficult and life is easier for your family and friends if you leave a will. Having a will can avoid unnecessary costs and delays in access to and distributing your assets to your beneficiaries.

Contact us for assistance with drafting a will that caters for your circumstances and reflects your wishes.

Probate and Letters of Administration

When someone dies leaving property and assets in NSW, an application to the Supreme Court is usually required for a grant of probate (where there is a will) or letters of administration (where there is no will). Once granted, the applicant has the authority to collect, distribute to beneficiaries and wind up the estate. The grant also imposes obligations on the applicant and a breach of those duties can result in the applicant being personally liable for losses to the beneficiaries. Certain procedures have to be followed and at TK Legal, we have years of experience in advising and assisting you with the process.

Will Disputes and Family Provision Claims

Sometimes a dispute can arise when a family member dies. Disputes can include:

  • · Whether the will is valid;
  • · Whether there was undue influence when the will was made;
  • · The interpretation of the will;
  • · Where someone was left out of the will;
  • · Where the will is grossly unfair.
  • While everyone has the testamentary freedom to deal with their estate as they see fit, the law does provide protection for certain "eligible persons" who include:

  • · The husband or wife at the time of death;
  • · The de facto partner at the time of death;
  • · A child;
  • · A former husband or wife;
  • · A grandchild or member of the household who was wholly or partly dependent at any particular time;
  • · A person who was living in a close personal relationship with the deceased at the time of death.
  • An eligible person can apply to the Supreme Court for a Family Provision Order if that person has not received adequate provision for the proper maintenance, education and advancement in life by a will. There is a strict time limit of 12 months from the date of death so it is important to contact us early for assistance with making a claim.